My Favorite 동방신기 Songs

DBSK1Xiah Junsu, Micky Yoochun, Youngwoong (Hero) Jaejoong, Choikang (Max) Changmin, U-Know Yunho

I’ve been a Dong Bang Shin Gi (동방신기/東方神起) fan pretty much since they debuted in December 2003.  It’s amazing how financial constraints and a floundering domestic music market formed one of the greatest and most all-around vocally talented K-pop groups.  All five members have amazing singing ability, but when they’re put together magic just happens.  The dancing ability of all the members is impressive (especially by the early 2000s standards) but it is their vocal ability which sets them apart from others.  Not only did this group boost the traditional good looks and dancing ability of K-pop groups, but  coupled with their amazing singing and harmonizing of all five voices, they really did earn the title of ‘gods of the east.’  For their young age, they accomplished so much and it was such a disappointment (and quite heartbreaking for fans such as myself) when they disbanded in one of the ugliest ways possible–through a lawsuit which only three of the members filed.  Of course there’s probably more to the story than is known and it’s quite possible (very possible) that they are still friends, but publicly that relationships is null as long as SM has anything to say about it.

Basic Information
Name:  東方神起 read Dong Bang Shin Gi in Korean
Other Names: Tohoshinki (Japanese), DBSG/DBSK, TVXQ
Debut: 2003 with HUG
Company: SM Entertainment
Albums: TRI-ANGLE, Rising Sun, O 正.反.合., 주문 (Mirotic)
Other: split in 2010 into JYJ and DBSG (predominantly called TVXQ)

The members’ stage names are, from oldest to youngest–Youngwoong (Hero) Jaejoong, U-Know Yunho, Micky Yoochun, Xiah Junsu, and Choikang (Max) Changmin.  Since Jaejoong, Yoochun, and Junsu have left SM, they are known as JYJ and go by their real names Kim Jaejoong (solo singer, actor, director, etc.), Park Yoochun (actor), and Kim Junsu (musical actor–he goes by XIA Junsu when singing solo) but they’re another post all together.  These five were so talented but the biggest bunch of dorks you could put together.  I miss that balance they had between the serious and the silly, but fans can only hope that they’ll come together again one day.

I’m getting off topic, but basically DBSG is a group that was with me through my middle and high school years…and helped me through the tough first year I had in college.  The following are my top favorite KOREAN songs from DBSG (with some possible bonus favorites thrown in there).  I’ll do another post with my favorite Korean songs.  I’m only talking about the five member group which was active from 2003-early 2010.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99F3o8TiBi8
1. HUG
The song that first captured my heart and DBSG’s debut song.  Re-watching this I’m always struck by how young they look…and by how much Jaejoong has changed.  And Yoochun shaving nothing off his face always makes me laugh along with Yunho’s cute crooked tiger teeth.  …and the fact that Junsu was supposed to be the one with the chic image.  Junsu.  Chic.  I LAUGH SO HARD.  And who can forget Changmin and the kitty?  The self-proclaimed darkest moment of his life.  Oh man, this video brings back so many memories.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LyR4Q-BH0Zs
2. 주문 (Mirotic)
From the debut track to pretty much the last promoted Korean song from the group.  Mirotic was probably the pinnacle of DBSG’s Korean career with the album breaking pre-sale records and being pretty much all-around amazing in terms of track listing.  If there’s any song I recommend for newer K-pop listeners to give a try, it’s this one.  The dancing was good and they took on a manlier image (but Jae still be pretty) and this beat is just so addictive.  I’ve got you under my skin.  This is the sort of K-pop that I really miss–all the newer releases are forgettable  and too performance flashy based.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-nclh7SMUc
3. 바보 (Unforgettable)
This is probably my favorite song off of their 2nd album “Rising Sun.”  It’s by no means a title track but a ballad…and the lyrics are beautiful and the song showcases their vocals.  I can’t say anything else about this song, I love it so much.

 

4. 넌 나의 노래 (You’re My Melody)
Another ballad-ish song that I love.  The harmonizing and vocal layering always relaxes me…and Jaejoong’s voice is just amazing.  As you can tell, I really like slower DBSG songs (this will become even more obvious once we get into their Japanese releases) that showcase their vocal abilities.  These are the types of songs that set them apart from the rest.

 

5. 풍성 (Balloons)
This song and video are just pure crack–as are the performances.  I’ve included this because it’s one of those DBSG classics where you just watch (it’s almost like a train wreck) and wonder what the hell someone was smoking when they came up with this.  If you watch the BTS videos of the filming you can just tell that Yunho is killing someone in his head.  Jaejoong tries to make the best of it and I’m pretty sure Changmin has blocked this out of his mind because omg so embarrassing.

 

Some other Korean favorites that were not mentioned in detail are Don’t Say GoodbyeWrong NumberFlower LadyTonightMy Little Princess, and 지금 처럼.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_zrfRmWlc8
[Bonus Favorite] 약속했던 그 때에 (Always There…)
This should be an a capella favorite tbqh (they have only a few a capellas released), but this really showcases their vocal abilities.  Ugh.  I always get a bit emotional when I hear this song and think of the great things this group has accomplished and just how talented they are.  This is a sad song, but it’s so beautiful.  So beautiful.

One thought on “My Favorite 동방신기 Songs”

Leave a comment