[Mini-HAUL] KTOWN4U – JYJ Stuff

2014-08-09-17-39-29_decoI usually don’t order much from the site KTown4U (previously known as DVDHeaven) due to the high shipping costs, but I gave in on two occasions last month.  The first order was to pre-order JYJ‘s new album Just Us as they had the cheapest price even with shipping tacked on.  The second was because I’m too much of a JYJ/Jaejoong fan.

Items Ordered:

  • JYJ 2nd Album <Just Us> + Poster
  • JYJ 3hree Voices II Photobook+Highlights DVD
  • Cafe J-Holic Glass Cup

Freebies

  • XIA Junsu Tony Moly poster
  • Jaejoong <WWW> photo cards
  • Jaejoong mock Polaroid

One of the places I have on my “things to do list” when I go to Korea is to visit Cafe J-Holic, Jaejoong’s cafe and KTown4U was selling the glasses.  I had to get one.  I am biased, but it’s probably the best glass EVER.  All ridiculousness aside, the glass itself was $16 (well, that’s quite ridiculous in itself) but it has a really nice weight to it–this cup is pretty heavy!  I like the simplicity of the design because I don’t feel awkward drinking out of it like I would a JYJ tumblr with their faces plastered all over it.  This just looks like I picked it up from some place I stopped by in my travels and doesn’t scream “JAEJOONG FAN RIGHT HERE!!!!”

2014-08-09-17-40-01_deco2014-07-30-16-06-35_deco

The 3hree Voices II Photobook + Highlight DVD was quite underwhelming.  I’ve already seen 3hree Voices I & II so I pretty much knew what was on the DVD.  The photobook itself wasn’t anything exceptionally special since the videos showed them taking the pictures–I knew what was coming.  Plus this has been out for quite some time…I think since 2011 so I’ve seen scans and whatnot floating around on the internet.  It was, however, nicely put together and packaged; coming with nicely sized photo cards and their personal interviews (maybe only 3 or 4 questions long) translated into multiple languages.  Another reason I picked this up was because KTown4U was having a special for JYJ’s comeback and reduced this to $9.50.  BARGAIN for JYJ photobook/DVD stuff since everything of theirs is now super expensive.

2014-08-09-17-58-29_deco2014-08-09-17-56-41_deco
As for the final product, it was the first thing I ordered but the last thing to arrive due to its release date.  JYJ’s 2nd album is amazing to listen to–I love it!  The packaging, however, not so much.  I had super high hopes since Back Seat, the main track, was super cool and sexy (er, maybe 80% of the time).  THIS FLOWER CONCEPT IS NOT SEXY.  Can someone please fire their stylists? WHAT IS THIS?  In what world are those awful flower suits attractive or stylish?!  I JUST CANNOT.  Especially all those comments on websites with scans of crazy JYJ fangirls just saying positive things like “OOOHHHHH, OPPAS LOOK SO HANDSOME!!!!” or “Omg, so sexy!”  I DON’T SEE WHAT IS SEXY OR HANDSOME ABOUT THOSE OUTFITS.  I’ve said this time and time again–even if I’m a huge fan I don’t like everything groups/artists/actors do/come out with.  I can be a fan without liking all of their work or styles and this style was a major fail.  Ugh.  I’m not sure what they were going for with this concept and album jacket design…maybe playing off the song Creation???  I have no idea because that’s not even a main track song…it’s all the way towards the end of the album!  The album itself doesn’t really have a theme–not that it needs to–but usually there’s some sort of overarching concept that I’m kind of lost on when it comes to the album photos.  IDK.  It is a lot nicer than I expected.  I thought it would be that blue with flower design, but the packaging is actually quite nice.  It has a vintage vibe to it.  The inside is really nicely designed except for the blue flower thing printed on the photobook.  Other than that, I’m always amazed by the quality and thought put into JYJ’s album designs and packaging.  It feels like they really took time and effort to put their creations in gorgeous packaging instead of regular old CD cases and normal looking album booklets.  This CD is worth the money not only for the quality music, but also for the quality packaging (although the design/concept is a little iffy).

2014-08-09-17-40-38_deco2014-08-09-17-44-52_deco

What was also a nice surprise was the ‘freebies’ given with my order.  I didn’t get anything with the J-Holic Glass/JYJ photobook order, but with my JYJ album I received a XIA Junsu Tony Moly poster which is printed on really good quality thick, glossy paper and some Jaejoong photo cards.  I actually already own the two from his WWW album (which I think are just pictures from his album and printed for ‘freebies’ purposes by KTown4U.  The other is an older picture of him (from TVXQ days) made to look like a polaroid picture.  Unfortunately, it’s not even good quality so I have no idea what to really do with it.  Hmm.  The Tony Moly poster is really nice…wasn’t expecting to get it, but a nice surprise.  Below is a scan I found on the internet from the Tony Moly calendar, but it’s the same picture. ^^
junsu_tony_moly_calendar
Overall, I’m usually pleased when I order from KTown4U.  I ordered a lot from them when they were known as DVDHeaven so it’s pretty much the same.  I buy JYJ’s albums from here since they usually are the cheapest even with the semi outrageous $10+ shipping.  However, when you think about it, places like YesAsia factor shipping into the price so the cost of the items are usually more expensive anyway.  Plus KTown4U’s shipping is a lot faster.  ^^;;  I like free shipping…so, yeah, I only really order stuff like Jaejoong/Junsu/JYJ new albums or if they’re running specials such as the JYJ photobook one or have items I want but can’t find elsewhere (J-Holic glass).

Leave a comment