[Review] Etude House – Ice Shot Mist

Ah…this product claims that it will lower your skin’s temperature.  Living in hot, humid Hawaii I decided this was going to be worth the money and purchased it.  Does it really work?  Is this just a gimmick?  Well, I’m pretty sure it really hasn’t lowered my skin’s temperature because every time I used it…it didn’t feel any cooler.  Just wet.2014-08-30-20-38-46_decoIt says it right there in that pink area “skin temperature down.”  That didn’t happen for me.  I am so disappointed.  😦  However, after weeks of use, I have found that this product works quite well as a setting spray and a nice mid-day pick-me-up.

The Stats
Brand:
Etude House
Country of Origin: South Korea
Line: Ice Shot
Type: Mist
Purpose: cool skin temperature
Size: 150ml
Price: $13.05 (sale) @ BeautynetKorea

Okay, right off the bat I was pretty sure this product wasn’t going to do what it said, but I thought I’d give it a try any way.  It comes, surprisingly, in a metal aerosol container.  Why?  Why does this need to come in aerosol?  I don’t understand.  Maybe make the mist finer, but I think if they put it in a normal pump spray bottle it would work just as well.  This doesn’t consistently mist very well either.  It comes out slightly misty and in larger drops at times.  However, when it does come out as a mist, it is quite nice and refreshing.

2014-08-30-20-35-53_decoThis product contains ‘Canada Ice Water’ and ‘Magic Water Drop.’  The ‘Canada Ice Water’ made me raise an eyebrow since, you know, it’s no longer ‘ice water’ if it’s melted and not cold.  They can just say it’s Canadian glacier water without the ‘ice water’ bit.  Accuracy and all that.  Is this Evian spray in a can?  Probably.  The ‘Magic Water Drop’ also claims to have vitamins in it and helps with moisturizing and whitening.

As I said, I didn’t feel as if this really lowered my skin temperature.  It just made my face feel wet.  Like how it feels after I use setting spray kind of wet.  I will admit that the product itself smells nice, very light with a very very slight floral note, but not overwhelming at all.  It does help reset makeup after powdering, but no real cooling goes on here aside from the initial moisturizing feeling.  I don’t know.  I think this is a bit ridiculous since you can get the same effect from spraying your face with setting spray or just water in a spray bottle.  However, I do see that this can be a ‘treatment’ since it serves as a breather of sorts.  Like, hey, let’s release our stress and take a moment for ourselves by misting our face!  I’m a bit torn, oddly enough, since I think it’s a tad ridiculous, but I also like the way it feels…plus it’s cheaper than Urban Decay setting spray.  Hmm…

Pros

  • Refreshing
  • Can be used as a setting spray
  • Nice, light scent

Cons

  • basically ‘special’ water in a can
  • metal can with compressed air–not sure this is needed
  • doesn’t significantly lower skin temperature or have a cooling effect
  • large container size; takes up space in bags

4 thoughts on “[Review] Etude House – Ice Shot Mist”

  1. Awww too bad , i AM huge fan of Etude house’s and i was thinking of purchasing this product , it’s a good thing i read your review or i would have wasted my money XD

    1. Thanks for your comment! I’m glad my review could help you save some money. 🙂 I’m also a HUGE Etude House fan, but even I’m iffy about paying $14+ for what is essentially water in a can…

    1. I guess you could…but it’s supposed to lower the temperature of your face on its own. Which it doesn’t really do. But not sure how cold would affect the pressure inside the can.

Leave a comment