[Review] EGLIPS – Pore Blind Powder

2014-08-30-20-49-52_decoI picked this up in a haul I did from BeautynetKorea as a replacement for my currently almost empty container of the Make Up For Ever HD Powder.  I thought I’d give this one a go since it’s less than $7 while the MUFE powder is a wopping $34 for 0.35 oz of product.

The Stats
Brand:
EGLIPS
Country of Origin: South Korea
Line: —
Type: Loose Powder
Purpose: Finishing/Oil Control/Pore Coverage
Size: 5g
Price: $6.84 (sale) @ BeautynetKorea

Since I purchased my MUFE HD Powder, they have since changed the name to the HD Microfinish Powder…but the price is still relatively the same.  I actually still have about a third of the container left and I’ve been using this for over two years.  However, I wanted to compare this with the EGLIPS one before I ran out.  They are both white powders which appear translucent on the skin and work for finishing, sebum control, and pore blurring purposes.  They even feel similar on the skin!  The EGLIPS one is a bit less silky in texture but works just as well as the expensive MUFE one.  However, the packaging and smaller container size is a definite plus.

2014-08-30-20-50-19_decoWhile the MUFE container holds twice as much as the EGLIPS one, you can buy almost five of the EGLIPS powders for the same price…which is two-and-a-half times as much product.  Plus the EGLIPS container is compact and comes in a sleek, simple black case with a powder puff.  This means it’s easy to throw in a handbag and mattify your skin on the go–without a brush.  I know MUFE makes a compact powder version, but you’re going to shell out $36 for 0.21 oz of product.  What would make this product even better are if it was in a compact-style case with a flip-top and if said case had a mirror.

Now, if you read the description on BeautynetKorea and look at the pictures, this product isn’t as amazing as it looks.  It won’t make your pores disappear or seriously even out your complexion.  It will mattify you…but that’s about it.  It may fill in your pores and make your skin look smoother, but there won’t be any major evening of the skin if you have excessive redness or dark spots.  In other words, your blackheads and large pores will not magically disappear with just this product over it.  With makeup and a silicone primer, yes; alone, not so much.

The great thing about using this product on the go rather than a colored face powder compact is that it will not give you that caked on look.  Because of it’s silky formula and translucent color, it will mattify and set product without looking layered on.  Plus it’s a lot smaller than most compact powders and doesn’t need any blending.  I have combination skin that tends to get oily after about two hours of makeup wear.  I used this product and it helped reduce the amount of sebum and shine I had before going into my two hour-long class (I had my makeup on for about 3 hours before class started).  I also like to pat this under my eyes to reduce the sad panda look my mascara gives me when my skin starts to get oily.

Pros

  • great price
  • MUFE HD Powder dupe
  • convenient packaging for on-the-go use
  • mattifying/finishing powder

Cons

  • will not even your skin tone or cover large pores as the pictures claim
  • no mirror

Since purchasing this product (I know this review took me awhile to post, sorry!) I’ve purchased others from EGLIPS (which, apparently is not said “E G LIPS” but as something akin to “eclipse” according to the Korean pronunciation.  Odd.) and am still in the testing stages.  But, man, this brand is really good.  Like, seriously good.  I feel that the products I have tried can compete with some expensive brands that you buy from Sephora.  This is one of those cases where cheap price does not indicate cheap quality. 🙂

3 thoughts on “[Review] EGLIPS – Pore Blind Powder”

Leave a comment